Nebraska American Legion Press Association Minutes June 26, 2021

President Vicki Cyboron called the Nebraska American Legion Press Association (NE-ALPA) meeting to order at 7:00 a.m. at the Cornhusker Marriott Hotel in Lincoln.

Roll call of officers was taken: President Vicki Cyboron; Secretary Amanda Washburn; Area A Vice President Marty Timberlake; Area B Vice President Gerald Schulte; Area C Vice President Dr. William Jackson Jr absent; and Area D Vice President Donald E. Nelsen absent.

Roll call of members was taken with seven members being present. Members present were Nancy Harrold Unit 126 Broken Bow, Fran Shelton Post 1 Omaha, Bonnie Brewer Post 247 Elmwood, Paula Pillen Unit 362 Elkhorn-Waterloo, Doug Frahm Post 320 Chambers, Doug Boldt Post 59 Callaway, and Eldon Kramer Squadron 36 Gering.

Washburn declared that there was a quorum, and business could now be conducted.

President Cyboron asked Secretary Washburn to read the minutes from the January 16, 2021 meeting. Motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to approve what was distributed with two changes by Marty Timberlake. Second by Paula Pillen and carried.

Motion to continue to collect the \$5.00 yearly membership dues starting on September 1, 2021 by Nancy Harrold. Second by Bonnie Brewer and carried. Washburn stated that she will begin depositing dues on September 1.

President Cyboron asked for reports from each Area Vice President. Area A Vice President Timberlake stated he had been pushing his local Posts and Chapters to be using Facebook more and to share their events so people know what they are doing. Area B Vice President Schulte reported that District 7 was looking to start a webpage and it would be used to promote the Nebraska American Legion Family. Area C Vice President Jackson and Area D Vice President Nelsen were absent. Legion Liaison Brewer had nothing to report. President Cyboron reported that she had been sending out emails and some publications to members and will try to reach out to more this year. She is still hoping to work with the members to create trainings for items that members want to know more about.

President Cyboron congratulated the group on the new NE-ALPA group Facebook page and thanked everyone for sharing the items that are there. She encouraged others to like the group page and share items on there. Cyboron shared that members could use CANVA to create flyers and other materials.

President Cyboron announced the winners of the 2021 NE-ALPA print and social media awards.

Social Media				
	1st Place	2nd Place	3rd Place	4th Place
District/County				
Over 150 + Members	TAL Post 36-Gering- Joseph Bennett	TAL Post 3-Lincoln- Jack Sibert		
Under 150 Members	Benson Post 112 Family	SAL Squadron 36- Gering-Eldon Kramer	TAL Shickley Post 164-Scott Shipley	ALA Unit 36-Gering- Cecil Doshier
Print Media				
	1st Place	2nd Place	3rd Place	4th Place
District/County	TAL D7-Jerry Schulte	ALA D6-Angie Foster		
Over 150 + Members	TAL Post 3- Lincoln- Steve Bartos- Newspaper	TAL Post 3- Lincoln- Gerry Wulf- Newsletter		
Under 150 Members	SAL Squadron 9- Osceola - William Foster	ALA Shickley Unit 164-Loree Hendrickson		

She then asked the group if they wanted to continue with the Print and Media Awards for the 2022 year in the same fashion as they did this year. Motion to continue the awards for 2022 with the change by Nancy Harrold. Second by Paula Pillen and carried.

President Cyboron addressed the members regarding the possibility of NE-ALPA putting on different trainings. Members came up with the following ideas: ZOOM and/or Teams, Facebook for both personal and Legion Family, press releases, and newsletters.

President Cyboron shared that TALMA is still offering training and that their dues are due on September 1 as well if anyone wants to belong to that organization. All of their information can be found on the legion.org website.

President Cyboron announced it was time for election of officers. Marty Timberlake nominated Vicki Cyboron for the office of President. Second by Fran Shelton and carried. Jerry Schulte nominated Marty Timberlake for the office of Area A Vice President. Second by Eldon Kramer and carried. Doug Frahm nominated Jerry Schulte for the office of Area B Vice President. Second by Marty Timberlake and carried. Fran Shelton nominated William Jackson for the office of Area C Vice President. Second by Jerry Schulte and carried. Marty Timberlake nominated Eldon Kramer for Area D Vice President. Second by Nancy Harrold and carried. President Cyboron asked for the approval to reappoint Bonnie Brewer as the Legion Liaison. Members consented to the appointment.

President Cyboron announced the next meeting of NE-ALPA will be Saturday, January 22 at the Ramada Inn in Columbus during Mid-Year. The meeting will be at 11:30 a.m.

Having no further business to come before the association, meeting was adjourned at 7:52 a.m.

Amanda F. Washburn Association Secretary